Event Details


26/03/2014 at 8.30am to 1.00pm


Convention Centre, Dublin


Practitioners: €375
Non Members: €550
Pension Scheme Representatives: Free of Charge


Sponsored By



Preparing Trustees for the Road Ahead

The IAPF’s Annual Investment Conference will look at the investment issues currently facing trustees. As Ireland continues to show signs of recovery how does this impact on the investment and business environment? How do schemes get the returns they need? Are trustees being forced to be too prudent? These and many more issues will be addressed on the day.

This Conference has been accredited 4 CPD hour by the LIA ( LIA-O-4015 & IOB No: 2014-0683 ) and 4 CPD hours by the IIPM. If you have a query relating to CPD hours please contact the relevant awarding body.


Time Subject

  8.30  Welcome, Conference Chair
Jerry Moriarty, IAPF

 Ireland Post Bailout
John Moran, Secretary General, Dept. of Finance

Followed by Panel Discussion & Q&A
John Moran, Secretary General, Dept. of Finance 
Nick Bullman, Checkrisk
Eoin Fahy, Kleinwort Benson Investors

Merits of Active Management
David Warren, Zurich

Fixed Income in the New World
David Greene, Pioneer Investments


Finding Value in a Low Yield Environment
Emiel van den Heiligenberg, Legal & General Investment Managers


Are Trustees in Danger of Excessive Prudence?
Brendan Kennedy, Pensions Authority
Brian Delaney, Aon Hewitt

Followed by Panel Discussion & Q&A
Brendan Kennedy, Pensions Authority
Brian Delaney, Aon Hewitt
Brian Buggy, Matheson

DB: The ABC of LDI
Serkan Bektas, Insight

DC: Smarter De- risking
Eunice Dreelan, Irish Life Investment Managers   

The Building Blocks for a Successful Pension Scheme – Panel Discussion
Colin Cunningham, Danske Bank
Tom McLoughlin, IBM
Samantha McConnell, IFG Corporate Pensions

13.15 Lunch

Please note: Conference topics and timings are subject to change.


David Greene
Pioneer Investments
Emiel van den Heiligenberg
Brian Delaney
Aon Hewitt
Nick Bullman
Colin Cunningham
Danske Bank
David Warren
John Moran
Department of Finance
Tom McLoughlin
Russell Investments
Eunice Dreelan
Irish Life Investment Managers / IAPF Council
Samantha McConnell
IFG Corporate Pensions
Brendan Kennedy
Pensions Authority
Brian Buggy
Jerry Moriarty
Eoin Fahy
Kleinwort Benson Investors

Important information regarding cookies

This site requires cookies, which are small text files that the site puts on your computer, to operate. These cookies help us provide a better service to you. We use these cookies to track general user traffic information and to help the site function properly. Cookies are used by approximately 92% of all sites on the internet.